Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni

The Casper College Distinguished Alumni are outstanding individuals who have made extensive contributions to their professions or have participated in humanitarian and philanthropic work. They display integrity of character that makes all alumni proud to be associated with such persons.

2019 Honoree Brent Erickson

Brent Erickson, son of Swede and Arletta Erickson grew up in Casper. While working on his master’s degree at the University of Wyoming, Erickson became involved in fossil fuel research at the United States Department of Energy’s Laramie Energy Technology Center. After graduation, Erickson joined the staff of United States Senator Alan Simpson (R-WY) as a legislative assistant handling energy, environmental, and defense issues. He was promoted to legislative director and managed all legislative and policy issues for Senator Simpson from 1981 to 1996.

In 1996, he joined the American Petroleum Institute as a Washington, D.C. representative where he directed government relations efforts on energy and environmental issues. During his time at API, Erickson earned three special achievement awards. In 2000, he joined the Biotechnology Innovation Organization. BIO is the world’s largest trade association representing biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers, and related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other nations. He currently head’s BIO’s Industrial and Environmental Section as executive vice president. Biofuels Digest named Erickson one of the top 100 people in the world of bioenergy in 2013 and 2014. In 2015, 2016 and 2017 he was recognized as one of the top 100 people in the world in advanced bioeconomy.

Additionally to his professional work credits, Brent also serves on the board of directors for the Friends of House Sweden, a nonprofit organization with a mission to promote U.S.-Swedish relations. He is also an avid oil painter who has received several awards for his paintings from the Art League in Alexandria, Virginia.

Past Recipients

Chris Navarro: 2018

Susan Thomas: 2017

Terry Dunn: 2016

Jerry Dunn: 2016

Matteo Pistono: 2014

Dr. Lee Swanstrom: 2013

Hank True III: 2012

Dan and Patty Goble: 2011

Harriet Hageman: 2010

Diana Ohman: 2009

Wayne Hunter: 2008

Raymond Jacquot: 2007

Holly Nye: 2006

Steven Bealer: 2005

Leroy Strausner: 2004

Ron Franscell: 2003

Ellyn Cavanagh: 2002

Kurt Stamm: 2001

Karen Higgins: 2000

                                                            Nancy Curtis: 1999

Paul R. “Bob” Streich: 1998

Dr. Ben Boedeker: 1997

William J. Phillips: 1996

                                                           Roxana Boyles: 1994

Joe Alexander: 1994

Douglas M. Crowe: 1993

F. Russell Huson: 1992

Leslie M. Lawson: 1991

Richard Cheney: 1990

Dr. Stephen W. Nicholas: 1989

Charles W.  Hord: 1988

Dean Conger: 1987

Richard A. “Dick” Tobin: 1987

Marlan Scully: 1986

Nominate Now

Distinguished Alumni

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.